top of page
  • hoppyhiker

Greg Dyer - District 5 Commission Candidate

Updated: Jul 15, 2022





First, I would like to thank you for taking time and effort to bring attention to this election. My name is Greg Dyer and I am a local business owner and have been a resident of Union County my entire life. I am running for county commissioner in the 5th district of Union County because I feel that the citizens of Sharps Chapel and the Speedwell community deserve to have their ideas, concerns, and opinions heard. My goal is to be "A Voice for the People".








Q1: What do you consider the top two major issues facing Sharps Chapel and Union County? How do you plan to address these issues?


1.) One of the major issues that we face in Sharps Chapel as well as Union County is failure to protect and maintain one of our most valuable resources... our people. Our local law enforcement, EMS employees, and teachers should not have to live in poverty as they protect, serve and educate our community. We continue to lose these individuals to higher paying jobs in other counties. I believe our community deserves the best and I will work to increase pay and benefits for our local law enforcement, EMS and teachers without impacting taxpayers wallets.


Another issue is drugs in our community. I feel that we can and must do better in securing resources and funding for substance abuse treatment programs in our community.


Q2: In Tennessee’s 2022 county profiles, Union County’s overall rank is 89 out of 95 counties (www.gov/tcc/data-and-research/county-profiles.html). What policies and programs do you support to improve the county’s situation?


2.) I believe that education is an important factor in improving the economic situation of our county. Our children should have options in terms of post high school education including college, vocational/trade schools such as TCAT (Tennessee College of Applied Technology) as well as apprenticeship training programs within our community. I fully support the TCAT program that is coming to Union County. Our children will greatly benefit by having a vocational training facility close to home.


We also need more support for community outreach programs to help identify families in need as well as appropriate resources and services available to assist them to overcome their obstacles and ensure their basic needs are met.


Q3: What is your position on bringing some sort of planned development to Union County to ensure economic development is balanced with the environmental impact it may cause?


3.) I am not for zoning in Sharps Chapel. I feel that with proper planning, communication and cooperation of all areas of our local government, we can better control development and economic growth while protecting our farm land, our lake and the serene and peaceful country living setting that we all love in Sharps Chapel that makes it "Home" or as I have heard many refer to it as "God's Country".


Q4: How would you solicit input from the community you serve? And, likewise, keep the community informed on a timely basis?


4.) I plan to have open communication with the community by providing my direct contact information to all citizens and request that citizens attend and participate in monthly community meetings that I plan to organize in order to obtain valuable information, ideas and concerns from citizens that I may present during county commission meetings. While out campaigning for this election, I have been presented with lots of great ideas from citizens. I have also been informed of many needs within our community that have been ignored and neglected for years. I plan to address both when elected.


Q5: Explain why you are the best candidate for this position.


5.) I am the best candidate for county commissioner of the 5th district because I have owned and operated a successful business for over 20 years and want to utilize this business experience to serve my community. I am trustworthy, honest and dependable. I am hard working and most of all, I am ready to roll up my sleeves and get to work for the citizens of the 5th district. I would truly appreciate your support and vote on August 4, 2022.

128 views0 comments
bottom of page