top of page
  • wheatdog5

Eddie Simpson - District 5 Commission Candidate

Updated: Jul 15, 2022





My name is Eddie Simpson and I am a detective with the Union County Sheriff's Office with over 15 years of service. I am running for county commission in the 5th district because our community needs leadership. My goal is to focus on the future so our children and grandchildren can enjoy this community as much as we have.









Q1: What do you consider the top two major issues facing Sharps Chapel and Union County? How do you plan to address these issues?


1.) One of the major issues facing Sharps Chapel and Union County is lack of funding for emergency services (police, ambulance and fire fighters). Another issue is that the citizens of Sharps Chapel and the Speedwell community have been overlooked for years now. I plan to work on obtaining additional funding for emergency services without reaching further into the taxpayers' pockets. I also plan to work hard to obtain much needed services in our community.


Q2: In Tennessee’s 2022 county profiles, Union County’s overall rank is 89 out of 95 counties (www.gov/tcc/data-and-research/county-profiles.html). What policies and programs do you support to improve the county’s situation?

2.) There are many issues that our community faces. I feel our community needs funding and access to drug treatment programs and a full-time ambulance service in Sharps Chapel. These are a necessity to our community.


Q3: What is your position on bringing some sort of planned development to Union County to ensure economic development is balanced with the environmental impact it may cause?

3.) I do not support zoning in Sharps Chapel. We can have development and growth within our community but with communication and cooperation between all arms of our local county government and proper planning, we can protect our investment and continue to enjoy the peaceful farmland that our community provides.


Q4: How would you solicit input from the community you serve? And, likewise, keep the community informed on a timely basis?

4.) After elected, I will solicit input from the community by communicating directly with the citizens. Citizens will be able to contact me directly with problems or ideas. I will have regularly scheduled meetings within the community in order to gain insight into the needs of the community and ideas citizens have and so I can take these issues or ideas back to the county commission meetings and advocate for the citizens I serve.


Q5: Explain why you are the best candidate for this position.

5.) I am the best candidate for county commissioner in the 5th district because I am honest, fair, passionate and have a desire to be a servant to the Sharps Chapel and Speedwell communities. I would appreciate your vote on August 4, 2022.


Thank you.








191 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page